Sand and shadow: White Sands National Monument

Arthouse Photography

It was a happy accident that I ended up among the gypsum dunes of White Sands on my recent long-weekend trip to New Mexico.

My primary focus was a visit to Spaceport America, a kind of pre-opening insider view of the grounds I’d arranged to take with a tour company out of Albuquerque.

I had driven from Dallas and arrived at Alamogordo late in the afternoon, with plans to finish up the journey to Truth or Consequences (where I would meet the tour group) the next day.

With a bit of time before dinner, I determined to fire up Google Maps and see what was in the neighborhood – and quickly discovered that White Sands was only 15 miles away!

Having long appreciated the photography of others who visited the sparkling white dunes, I decided it would be preposterous to miss the opportunity to take a few photos of my…

View original post 65 more words

Posted on April 22, 2013, in Sudan life style. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

